The Ten "Cities" of Troy

The Ten

Troy, is the first area where the prehistoric period excavations is done and turned into a science. On September 30, 1996, the Turkish government declared the site of Troia and the immediate surroundings a National Historical Park and was added to the UNESCO World Heritage list in 1998. The ancient city of Troy, conveniently located geographically has been continuously inhabited between the years 3.000 BC and 500 AC. Kerpiç (sun-dried bricks) was used during the construction of the walls of houses in the settlements. Therefore after a long chain of settlements an artificial hill was composed of containing the different layers of the city. After the excavations carried out 10 different city layers and more than 50 building phases were identified. These cities in short: Troia I – III (Littoral Troia Culture): This name especially given due to the distribution of settlements in the Mediterranean region. This period stars nearly 3000 BC and ends in 2500 BC. Troia IV – V: Anatolian Characterized Troia Culture: It begins in 2100 BC and continues until the 1700’s BC.

Troia VI-VII (From 1700 BC to 1100 BC) was defined High Troia Troia Culture by archaeologists. After a gap of several centuries the settlement of Greeks in Troy VIII, continued from 700's BC to approximately 85 BC. In Troia IX, there was a Roman settlement from 85 BC to 500's AC. In Troy X the Byzantine settlement which started from 12th century continued to 13th century. After this time, due to great political changes in that period, Troia has lost its importance in the cultural life. Especially European intellectuals' growing interest in Troia after 17th century, culminated with Heinrich Schliemann and this importance has continued to the present day.

Composite Reconstruction of the Site: Periods I through IX (Ch. Haussner)